With any luck, you’re Read this article about how much money you have before drinking and driving – and not after you are pulled.
If you are reading this after being drawn to drink under the influence, there is not much good news to give you. Being arrested for DUI can become one Financial nightmare.
Exactly as it should be. While the number has decreased considerably over the years, drunk driving is still frequent. According to the US Department of Transportation, approximately 30 people in the United States die every day in an accident related to drunk driving.
And while one might think that the epidemic would have taken those figures closer to zero in a day, this is not the case. The number of drunk driving arrests has actually increased in some areas of the country, possibly due to stress related to the virus.
Whatever your situation, if you are curious about how much it is likely to cost to drink and drive, then here are the answers to your possible questions.
How much benefit would a DUI cost you?
It is difficult to tell anyone how much DUI will cost because so many factors are at play. It depends how much you were drinking, the state and city you were pulling, your age and other factors.
Peter Liss, a criminal defense attorney in San Diego, says the total cost of a DUI can easily reach $ 10,000. Arnold Chapman, a former truck and founder and CEO of ELDFocus.com, an online magazine in the automotive industry, predicts you will pay $ 10,000 to $ 30,000.
Why is a DUI so expensive?
Most of the costs with DUI have to do with hiring an attorney and how your insurance will respond. Also, there are a lot of fees.
Nick Wilder, a New York City trial attorney who specializes in driving in impaired or drunk cases, says: “If you run into a DUI problem, there are three main expenses – criminal penalties, an insurance increase and Attorney fees. “
The punishment, Wilder says, “depends on the amount of alcohol in your blood and how often you’ve been caught.”
What is the cost of a DUI break down?
court fees. If you have been pulled over for DUI and have evidence with the police to suggest you are drunk, you will be taken to jail.
“For a first offense with .08% (blood alcohol content), the fine is about $ 400, but if you have a third time offense of more than .08%, the fine can be up to $ 10,000 and seven years in prison, “Wilder says.
The amount you decide for a DUI also depends on where you live. Lis says that if you are convicted of driving drunk in San Diego, the fine is $ 2,133.
In Ohio, you can spend as much as $ 1,075, says Ben Luftman, a criminal defense attorney from Dublin, Ohio, specializing in WI cases.
Car towing and impulse fees. After coming out of jail, you have to get your car.
Because your car is parked somewhere. Chapman estimates that you will spend $ 100 to $ 1,200 to get your car back.
In addition, you may not be able to remove your car from the police department’s impound lot. For that you will need a family or a friend. Chances are, your driver’s license has been taken from you.
Hire a lawyer. If this was your first offense, and you were barely off limits, you could choose to show up in court and pay your fine, and you would probably have no attorney costs or very little attorney costs. (Either way, consult a lawyer before deciding to use one.)
In some cases, you will definitely want to consider Hire a lawyer. “If you are facing hooliganism, such as for many offenses above .08%, then you could face years in prison. Then you have to appoint a lawyer, and who will get you out of jail. It can be expensive to keep, ”Wilder says.
Luftman states: “Depending on a number of factors including location, experience, ability, reputation and what exactly to do with a case, a person can spend up to $ 10,000 on their attorney.”
License fee. In many states, if you are found guilty of a DUI, you will automatically lose your driver’s license. If you are found intoxicated and convicted in Colorado, you can say goodbye to your driver’s license for nine months.
If this happens in Pennsylvania, and this is your first time, you will not lose your license. The state will not be so lethargic if it happens again – you will lose your license for a year and get some jail time from five days to six months.
If you lose your license, when it is time to get it back, you will have to pay a reinstatement fee. Chapman estimates that you will pay $ 20 to $ 200.
Transportation costs. If you lose your license, you want to budget for the cost of taking the bus, Uber or any other mode of public transport.
insurance cost This can be a very painful part of a DUI. Your insurance premium will increase significantly.
On average, driving a drunk will increase a person’s premium from 20% to 25% for three to 10 years, according to Earl L. Jones Insurance Agency owner, Earl L. Jones Insurance Agency. In Sunnyvale, California.
“They will have very limited options for auto insurance during that time frame, as they are generally ineligible for auto insurance with big-name carriers. As such, they lose their auto and home as well as discounts. Will be another, which Jones says, 15% to 20%.
“They also have to pay for the SR-22, which can vary in price from $ 22 and up,” he said.
What is SR-22? It is a certificate of insurance that gives proof that you get car insurance.
“A DUI conviction can make it very challenging Get life insurance During that time period, “Jones says. A lot of carriers will not write life insurance on a person guilty of major driving such as DUI.”
Substance abuse class “In some states you will need to join a substance abuse class. Classes are at least $ 1,000 to $ 3,000,” Chapman says.
Luftman states that in Ohio, a DUI driver may undertake a state-certified driver intervention program that would cost at least $ 300. If the driver does not have $ 300 or does not want to pay, he can go to jail for three days.
Ignition interlock device. “Some defendants have to install an ignition interlock device in their car,” Liss says.
This is a device that you hook to your car. You breathe in it, and if you have alcohol in your breath, the car will not start. If alcohol is not detected, your car will start. Lis says that it can cost anywhere from $ 100 to $ 150.
Meanwhile, Lis says that you will pay around $ 75 a month for an ignition interlock device in your car.
Alcohol monitor ankle bracelet. If this is not your first offense, and the court really fears you being on the road without some oversight, then you may need to wear a safe continuous remote alcohol monitor. It is an alcohol monitor ankle bracelet. Lis says that it costs $ 500 a month.
“Sometimes on felony DUI, defendants can order a SCRAM – or have an ignition interlock device for six months to a year. Sometimes SCRAM requires three years,” Liss says.
Are there any other costs associated with a DUI?
There are other possible costs to consider. For example, Chapman says that you may have to take random urine tests and drug screenings after DUI, which can cost as much as $ 100. You can do community service and pay a community service supervision fee, usually around $ 100.
“There is no direct way to determine this cost but, unfortunately, after an criminal background check if an employer sees a DUI on your history, you may be lost or not offered a job at all. It tends to lead. Financial stress, ”Luftman says.
Still, on the bright side, and certainly there is a bright side for those drawn to a DUI, assuming nothing bad has happened yet, the police officer has given you and your community members the greatest You could have done the favor. Because if something was pulled before something bad happened to you, with the right support and attitude, you should be able to refute it. There is a price to be paid for driving while intoxicated. But your negligence may cost someone else.