Fri. Mar 5th, 2021

TAMPA, Fla. (AP) – The latest announcement of the 2021 Pro Football Hall of Fame class was made on Saturday during the NFL Honors TV Show (All Time EST):

Strong guard Alan Faneca is going into the Pro Football Hall of Fame, guarding the holes that have been opened for years to protect Jerome Bettis and Ben Roethlisberger.

In 10 seasons with Pittsburgh, two with the Jets and one more in Arizona, Faneca missed a stunning total of one game.

He was selected for six All-Pro teams and nine Pro Bowls.

His best days came with the Steelers, who made the top-10 rushing attack all season there, and won the 2006 Super Bowl.

Faneca was the third modern-day player to be announced for the Class of 2021 on the NFL Honors Awards program. He was joined by Charles Woodson and Calvin Johnson, along with Drew Pearson, the Cowboys great who made it as a senior candidate.

The rest of the announcements are later tonight, when Patton Manning hopes to make it on his first ballot.

Calvin Johnson, the receiver known as “Megatron”, has been named the Pro Football Hall of Fame in its first year of eligibility.

In nine seasons with the Detroit Lions, Johnson made six Pro Bowls. He caught 731 passes and scored 84 touchdowns. He was a three-time All-Pro and his 1,964 yards receiving averaged 123 yards per game in 2012, still standing as an NFL single-season record.

Like Barry Sanders, another Lions Hall of Famer, Johnson unexpectedly retired in the prime of his career – at the age of 30 – leaving fans wondering if he quit too soon.

The Hall of Fame committee did not think so, and eventually, Johnson’s status as a pre-eminent playwright – he had five games with more than 200 yards – got him into the hall on the first try.

He will join Holiday along with Charles Woodson, along with some other players who will be announced later on Saturday night’s NFL Honors Awards show.

Charles Woodson, Heisman Trophy winner, who spent 18 seasons in the defensive backfield for the Oakland Raiders and Green Bay Packers, is going into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

He was the first player announced at the NFL Honors Awards show to reveal all motivators during its two-hour show on Saturday night.

The rest of the 2021 class is to be announced later, with Peyton Manning hoping that this year will be his first year of eligibility.

Woodson finished his career with 65 interceptions and led the league twice in that category. His 13 defensive touchdowns are tied for a career record.

He played his first eight in Oakland and the last three years in Green Bay around seven years old, where he won his only Super Bowl title.

He and Marcus Allen are the only players to win a Heisman, AP Rookie of the Year, AP Player of the Year and a Super Bowl.

More AP NFL: and

Copyright 2021 associated Press. All rights reserved. This content may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *